Utah Teens Leave Youth Center, Warrants Issued

Photo: Mustafa Khayat

Four Utah teens recently left a Draper youth center, which isn’t a secure facility, but is set aside as a place youth “inmates” aren’t allowed to leave without permission.

On the Run?

Two of the Utah teens were located in Orem, but the other two young men–a 15- and 16-year old, are still unaccounted for. Warrants have been issued for their arrests, since they’re not legally supposed to leave the youth facility on their own.

The youth center is a supervised facility for teens who’ve been ordered “incarcerated” for 60 to 90 days. This particular type of facility houses troubled youth who also are required to perform community service, in addition to other consequences assigned by a juvenile court judge.

Worries About Teens’ Abilities to Care for Themselves

News reports indicate that law enforcement are concerned for the two teens’ welfare and hope they don’t become dangerous. Of course, we don’t have any other information on these two young men, so discussing their potential danger to the community seems quite speculative at this point.

Troubled youth facilities can be beneficial for some Utah teens; quite a bit likely depends on the people who run the facility and the teens themselves.

Consult with a Utah Juvenile Defense Attorney

It’s important to make sure that any youth who finds himself in trouble with the law gets the best legal help possible, as quickly as possible. Having an experienced Utah juvenile defense attorney on your child’s side can make all the difference in the outcome of his or her case.

Help your child today by contacting a reputable Utah juvenile defense attorney today.

Drinking Statistics Show Fewer Utah Underage Drinkers Than National Average

Photo: Tim (Timothy) Pearce

Recent statistics show that there are, overall, fewer underage drinkers in Utah than there are typically throughout the United States.

Underage Drinkers are Less Frequent in Utah

Some risk factors that have been found to lead to underage drinking include: availability of alcohol, family conflict, trouble at school and peer pressure. Utah is well-known for being a state that tries to curtail not just underage drinkers but also unrestrained drinking among legally aged drinkers, a fact that might bother some people.

Legally, if a minor is arrested–for example–for driving under the influence he could easily find himself without a driver’s license: either because it is revoked or he is restricted from receiving one until he’s 21-years-old. There are other legal problems that can arise from underage drinking, too.

A minor who is caught drinking alcohol may find himself in juvenile detention, home detention or required to perform community service.

Hiring a Top Utah Juvenile Defense Attorney for Your Child

Regardless of your personal beliefs about alcohol, whether it’s drunk by minors or adults, you may agree that anyone who’s accused of a crime deserves the best legal representation they can find.

Ultimately, it is our desire to provide the legal support and assistance your child needs. We firmly believe in protecting kids’ rights and will work tirelessly to see that your child is treated fairly, both in and out of the courtroom.

Talk to an experienced Utah juvenile defense attorney today to help get your kid’s case on the right track. Helping you and your child is our privilege.

Utah Teen Arrested in Alleged Aggravated Assault for Stabbing Her Father in the Kitchen

A 17-year-old Utah teen has been arrested and taken to detention while she’s being investigated for her role in an alleged aggravated assault incident involving her father.

Photo: Scott FeldsteinThe Backstory

Authorities are trying to piece together exactly what happened, but believe that the girl was involved in an altercation with her father during which time both behaved inappropriately. The father stated that the two were arguing and he threw the girl down when she tried to stab him with a kitchen implement.

His story is that the teen left the room and came back with a pocketknife which soon ended up in the father’s thigh. The girl then left the house, but police found her at some point. She had injuries that police seem to think showed she’d been grabbed repeatedly around the neck. The teen stated that when her father threw her, she hit her head.

Both parties to the incident were given medical treatment before being booked into their respective law enforcement facilities. The father is being investigated for child abuse.

Aggravated Assault or Self-Defense?

An interesting question arises from this situation: if one person grabs another person by the neck and throws them to the ground and the second person responds with force is it truly an instance of aggravated assault or rather self-defense? This is a question which a Utah juvenile defense attorney might pose in court.

Hopefully the young lady will receive appropriate legal counsel. It’s got to be tough when a family squabble turns violent, but maybe there’s more to this story than meets the eye.

If you have a child who’s in a legal mess, don’t wait to talk to a Utah juvenile defense attorney. Kids need legal counsel just as much as adults and you shouldn’t have to attempt to navigate the juvenile justice system on your own. Call an attorney today.

Utah Juvenile Court Appearance Rules

There are several rules concerning the appearance of juveniles and guardians in a Utah juvenile court. There are consequences if you or your child choose to not attend court when requested.

Avoiding a Bench Warrant

One potential problem you face is that a bench warrant may be issued. A judge can request a bench warrant for many situations, including failure to appear in court.

When a juvenile is required to appear in court, his parent, guardian or other person who has legal custody must also be in attendance unless excused by the judge.

Give Your Employer Notice of Court Date

If you have to go with your child to a Utah juvenile court, your employer has to allow you the time off, though not necessarily with pay, as long as you give appropriate notice.

If you have signed a written promise to appear in court with a minor and you don’t show up, you can be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor. That misdemeanor charge will be handled in the appropriate district court setting.

Who Is a Guardian Ad Litem?

When neither a parent nor a guardian go with their child to court, the juvenile court judge may appoint a guardian ad litem. A guardian ad litem is (usually) an attorney who is employed by the state whose responsibilities include protecting the interest of a child.

An arrest or bench warrant may be issued for any parent, guardian, other custodian or minor when:

• A summons is issued but can’t be served
• The court can tell that the person to be served won’t obey the summons
• Serving the summons won’t have any effect
• The welfare of the minor is at stake and it’s imperative that the court take immediate custody

Talk to a Utah Juvenile Defense Attorney

Don’t wait to contact a Utah juvenile defense attorney if your child is facing any charges in Utah juvenile court. It is in your child’s best interests to have legal representation by an attorney who has experience handling kids’ court cases. Make the right phone call today.