Homicide/Murder by a Utah Juvenile
Homicide/Murder committed by a juvenile is almost always filed directly in adult District Court if the Utah juvenile is over 16 years of age. If the juvenile is under 16, but over 14 years of age the case will begin in the juvenile court and then move to the adult/District Court.
Homicide/Murder is defined as accidentally, or intentionally causing the death of another human being. Accidental and intentional cause of death can be defined as being the driver of a bank robbery, in which someone dies. Although they never shot anyone or went inside of the bank, a juvenile could be charged with felony murder.
Homicide also includes causing the death of a human being through gross negligence. For instance, a person operating a vehicle while intoxicated may be charged with negligent homicide if they kill someone in an accident. Again, if a minor is older than 16, then the prosecutor can directly file charges against in adult court.